Greek Islands

Here is some information about the Greek Islands, which make up for nearly 1 / 5 of all the Greek teritory. There are around 3,000 islands, of which 167 are inhabited.

The largest of the islans of Greece:

  • Crete (approximately 8260 km ²)
  • Euboea (about 3621 km ²)
  • Lesbos (c. 1630 km ²)
  • Rhodes (about 1400 km ²)
  • Chios (about 840 km ²)
  • Kefalonia (about 780 km ²)
  • Samos (c. 480 km ²)
  • Lemnos (476 km ²)
  • Naxos (approximately 430 km ²)
  • Zakynthos (406 km ²)
  • Thasos (c. 390 km ²)
And the Greek archipelagos:
  • Ionian Islands
  • Cyclades
  • Southern and Northern Sporades

Geography of Greece

Greece, the Hellenic Republic, is a country located in south-eastern part of Europe, on the southernedge of the Balkan Peninsula. It borders four countries: Albania, the Republic of Macedonia and Bulgaria to the north and Turkey to the east. Greece has access to four seas: the Aegean and Crete in the east, the Ionian on the west and the Mediterranean from the south. Greece has the tenth longest coastline in the world, with a length of 14880 km. Apart from the continental part, Greece has also about 1,400 islands, from which 227 are inhabited. The most well-known islands and archipelagos are: Crete, the Dodecanese, the Cyclades and Ionian Islands.The highest peak in Greece is Mount Olympus, which is 2,917 meters above sea level.